B’s Unlikely Starting Point

It’s sunny in Seattle today – you can almost hear everyone’s skin burning – which seems as good an omen as any to write my first blog post. The location of my first blogged coffee shop is even more unlikely than seeing the shining sky-orb. This weekend, I drank really good coffee in (almost) Idaho.

I visited Little Brother B this weekend at his school in (almost) Idaho. The area is not known for its culinary innovation, so my meals with LBB consist of French fries, greasy diner breakfasts, and hot dogs with cream cheese (it’s a thing). I preemptively cringed when I asked him where to find good coffee before the trip home and was surprised when he mentioned Thomas Hammer Coffee Roasters. I didn’t even know there was a non-Starbucks coffee shop in town!

Thomas Hammer outside

Even more surprising than the mere presence of a small coffee shop in (almost) Idaho was the coffee quality and the atmosphere. The menu was extensive enough to be exciting for non-coffee drinkers, but limited enough that everything was created thoughtfully. My travel companion ordered a diablo, a chili-laced mocha. I ordered a cold brew and threw some milk in it:

Thomas Hammer cold brew

 

My cold brew was tasty and refreshing. The only milk option to add to my coffee was whole milk, which is one of the marks of a good coffee shop. (Side note, one of A’s favorite questions to answer is “should I put nonfat milk in my coffee?” You should ask her some time.) My companion’s diablo mocha was so good. Not too sweet, not too spicy. So, so good.

a very mod interior

a very mod interior

As we waited for our drinks, we struck up a conversation with the barista. I mentioned that I work for a summer camp and he immediately busted out a camp song about a skunk (“I stuck my head in the hole and he said ‘get it out! Get it out! Remooooove it!'”). No one has ever serenaded me before, and I was certainly not expecting an impromptu solo in a mod coffee shop! The lack of pretentiousness was as refreshing as my cup of cold brew and very fitting in the college town.

an exterior mural, too!

an exterior mural, too!

Thomas Hammer was an excellent pre-road trip stop. The coffee was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient. Although A would approve of the milk choices, the menu’s inclusion of multiple types of mochas and cold blended coffee drinks knocked a few mustaches off my rating. If you find yourself in Eastern Washington, though, I highly recommend Thomas Hammer!

Snobbery (out of 5): mustachemustachemustache
Taste (out of 5): latte  latte  latte  latte

 

As always, drink good coffee.

-B

Leave a comment